Recently I started a series of trips mainly due to mathematical reasons, although I try to add some other reasons on the way. In this blog I will try to speak about my impressions of the places I visit, the people I meet and the mathematics I learn. Hopefully it will not be too boring. However a first warning: I do birational geometry, so the layman may feel this is all nonsense.

I came back a week ago from my most recent trip, and unfortunately I have no time to write about it, so the following lines will have to do for now. I went to Cortona, in Tuscany (Italy). A beautiful environment, amazing building (the Palazzone) and even more amazing lectures. David Cox and Hal Schenck lectured on their new book joint with John Little in Toric Varieties, a must.

The next trip will be for Joe Harris 60th Birthday in Harvard.

